Taste and See the Green Valley

luca-bravo-24241

It was a beautiful green valley. I was sitting on a bench and my feet were deep into the river, a clear and sparkling river. I noticed very colorful fish playing around my feet. When I looked up, I felt the sun, a warm and gentle sun. A friend was sitting by me and other friends were playing in the water. I couldn’t believe how lucky we were. There was so much beauty, joy and contentment, all around us. I then thought I needed to capture the moment on a camera. I first tried to take the photo of the fish, I couldn’t get the camera lens to focus. Then I tried capturing something else, I still couldn’t do it and this time it was because it suddenly got dark. Upon that recognition, I woke up and realized it was dream.

I am often asked to explain hope, faith, God or Jesus. I can borrow words from the Bible and say faith is “the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen” Hebrews 11:1. I can also say that Jesus died on the cross for humanity and rose again. However, those words can only point at something or someone. Perhaps sometime, explanation is needed before experience, but without an invitation to experience something we really haven’t fully explained it. “Taste and see that the Lord is good” Psalm 34: 8. Like in my green valley dream, I tasted and saw beauty, joy and contentment through all my senses. Yet, when I tried capturing it so I can share it later with those who were not present, I failed. As if to tell me that the man-made lens I was using to capture my experience will fail at fully communicating what I lived.  My words will at times fail at explaining that moment when I experienced the world like no one has ever been able to explain it to me. It was a world that was only good, beautiful and joyful. I dare say I experienced it because I was present to it. It is the world within us because the Holy Spirit dwells in us. A world expressing itself to the outside through an invitation to use lenses that aren’t men-made, but that are God made. It takes God to reveal God in us. In echoing Paul I also declare, “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” Galatians 2:20.

Leave a Reply

