Image

A Desert Brings Life to a Rainforest

Earlier this month, I was telling a friend that my life for the past couple of years has been like living in a desert and on the verge of quitting more often than I have allowed myself to accept; simply because I thought it was impossible to live, dream, create and thrive in the desert. However, for every single time I have been tempted to give up, God has encouraged me to keep going and has pointed me to the fact that there is life in this desert, and that I need to come into agreement with that and I will see it.

The day after I shared the above, another friend sent me the following fact:  “This is incredible: NASA scientists recently studied in detail how dust from the seemingly barren Sahara Desert gets picked up by strong winds and carried more than 3,000 miles across the Atlantic Ocean, where it fertilizes the lush Amazon rainforest.” You can read more about this here or check the video here.  In the words of my friend, we think the desert is dead and useless but it’s not! It is secretly sustaining the rainforest all the way across the ocean! I was very encouraged and reminded of Isaiah 43:19 “See, I am doing a new thing! Now it springs up; do you not perceive it? I am making a way in the wilderness and streams in the wasteland.”

Leave a Reply

